

## Notice of a meeting of Council – Annual Meeting

## Monday, 13 May 2013 5.00 pm Council Chamber, Municipal Offices

<b>M</b> embership			
Councillors:	Colin Hay (Chair), Wendy Flynn (Vice-Chair), Andrew Chard, Garth Barnes, Ian Bickerton, Nigel Britter, Chris Coleman, Barbara Driver, Bernard Fisher, Jacky Fletcher, Rob Garnham, Les Godwin, Penny Hall, Tim Harman, Rowena Hay, Diane Hibbert, Sandra Holliday, Peter Jeffries, Steve Jordan, Andrew Lansley, Paul Massey, Helena McCloskey, Andrew McKinlay, Paul McLain, David Prince, John Rawson, Anne Regan, Rob Reid, Diggory Seacome, Duncan Smith, Malcolm Stennett, Charles Stewart, Klara Sudbury, Pat Thornton, Jon Walklett, Andrew Wall, Simon Wheeler, Roger Whyborn and Suzanne Williams		

## Agenda

1.	A MOMENT OF REFLECTION	
2.	APOLOGIES	
3.	ELECTION OF THE MAYOR 2013-2014	
	The Mayor (Councillor Colin Hay) to call on Councillor Walklett to	
	move the motion proposing Councillor Wendy Flynn as Mayor.	
	Councillor Walklett will propose "that Councillor Wendy Flynn be, and is hereby, elected Mayor of the Borough of Cheltenham and Council chairman for the ensuing Municipal Year".	
	The Mayor will call upon a Councillor to formally second the motion.	
	The Mayor, will thereafter put to the Council the motion "that Councillor Wendy Flynn be, and is hereby, elected Mayor of the Borough of Cheltenham and Council chairman for the ensuing Municipal Year".	
	The Mayor will invite Councillors to give a show of hands to indicate their support.	
	The Mayor will congratulate Councillor Flynn on her appointment and invite her to take her place in the chamber (he will still be wearing the chain until he hands it over to the new Mayor in the Town Hall	

		II.
	ceremony).	
	The Chief Executive will ask the newly elected Mayor to sign a declaration of acceptance of office of Council chairman 2013-2014 (this is not read out).	
	From this point onwards Councillor Wendy Flynn will chair the meeting.	
4.	ELECTION OF THE DEPUTY MAYOR 2013-2014	
4.	The Mayor will call upon Councillor Whyborn to move the motion to appoint Councillor Simon Wheeler as Deputy Mayor.	
	Councillor Whyborn will propose "that Councillor Simon Wheeler be, and is hereby, elected Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Cheltenham and Council Vice-Chairman for the ensuing Municipal Year".	
	The Mayor will call upon a Councillor to formally second the motion.	
	The Mayor to put the motion to Council "that Councillor Simon Wheeler be, and is hereby, elected Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Cheltenham and Council Vice-Chairman for the ensuing Municipal Year".	
	The Mayor will invite Councillors to give a show of hands to indicate their support.	
	Upon being carried, the Mayor will congratulate Councillor Simon Wheeler on his appointment.	
	The Chief Executive will ask the newly elected Deputy Mayor to sign a declaration of acceptance of office of Council Vice-Chairman 2013-2014 (this is not read out).	
5.	DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST	
J.	DECEMBRIONS OF INTEREST	
6.	MINUTES OF THE LAST MEETING 25 March 2013	(Pages 1 - 12)
7.	COMMUNICATIONS BY THE MAYOR	
8.	COMMUNICATIONS BY THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL	
9.	NOTICES OF MOTION	
<b>3.</b>	HOTIOLO OF MICTION	
10.	TO RECEIVE PETITIONS	
11.	ANY OTHER ITEM THE MAYOR DETERMINES AS URGENT AND WHICH REQUIRES A DECISION	
12.	LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT 1972 -EXEMPT INFORMATION The Council is recommended to approve the following resolution:-	

	"That in accordance with Section 100A(4) Local Government Act 1972 the public be excluded from the meeting for the remaining agenda items as it is likely that, in view of the nature of the business to be transacted or the nature of the proceedings, if members of the public are present there will be disclosed to them exempt information as defined in paragraph 1 and 3, Part (1) Schedule (12A) Local Government Act 1972, namely:  Paragraph 1; Information relating to any individual.  Paragraph 3; Information relating to the financial or business affairs of any particular person (including the authority holding that information)	
13.	EXEMPT MINUTES	(Pages
	25 March 2013	13 - 14)

Contact Officer: Saira Malin, Democracy Officer, 01242 775153 Email: <a href="mailto:democratic.services@cheltenham.gov.uk">democratic.services@cheltenham.gov.uk</a>

**Andrew North Chief Executive**